Help needed to understand the RSI

Have a question about trading? Any questions are welcome. Go ahead!

Help needed to understand the RSI

Postby User » Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:35 pm

Forum transfer: Submitted by laurentyew on January 25, 2008 - 08:26.

Hi,

This is the best forex website ever. Many thanks to all the people who started and supported it.
I'm very new to forex(been in for about 1 month) and would like to seek some help on understanding a few things. Attached is a picture of a trade that i made which ended in loss(Usng the simple balance strategy posted here).
I started my entry when all the signs suggested was right and exited once the RSI crossed over the 50 mark. But a got a loss. After a few days of observation using the same strategy, i noticed that the pips will drop whenever the RSI is moving towards the 50 mark.
Please advise is my observation correct ? and what when wrong for the situation that i posted.
Many Thanks
Attachments
Problem.JPG
User

Re: Help needed to understand the RSI

Postby Edward Revy » Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:36 pm

Forum transfer: Submitted by Edward Revy on January 26, 2008 - 20:01.

Hi,

From the screen shot - you were doing everything right. Losses do take place with this or any other strategy. A winning strategy is not the one which has no losses (although it would be ideal :)), but rather the one that has a positive performance overall - wins are larger than losses.

You are also right about the fact that when RSI moves back towards 50 the pips will drop. However, we never know if RSI is actually going to cross 50 mark on the approach. If we exit prematurely we may miss a large move ahead.

Regards,
Edward.
Edward Revy
Site Admin

Postby User » Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:37 pm

Forum transfer: Submitted by User on January 31, 2008 - 05:10.

Thanks Edward for you reply. By the way, thanks for the great website
User

Postby User » Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:39 pm

Forum transfer: Submitted by fx4me on July 9, 2008 - 00:33.

Hi,